Han Solo Game in “Gone With The Wind”

Remember the scene from The Empire Strikes Back when Han tells Leia that she likes him because he’s a scoundrel? Here’s where it was ripped off from.

“Scarlett, you do like me, don’t you?”

That was more like what she was expecting.

“Well, sometimes,” she answered cautiously. “When you aren’t
acting like a varmint.”

He laughed again and held the palm of her hand against his hard
cheek.

“I think you like me because I am a varmint. You’ve known so few
dyed-in-the-wool varmints in your sheltered life that my very
difference holds a quaint charm for you.”

This was not the turn she had anticipated and she tried again
without success to pull her hand free.

“That’s not true! I like nice men–men you can depend on to always
be gentlemanly.”

“You mean men you can always bully. It’s merely a matter of
definition. But no matter.”

He kissed her palm again, and again the skin on the back of her
neck crawled excitingly.

“But you do like me. Could you ever love me, Scarlett?”

“Ah!” she thought, triumphantly. “Now I’ve got him!” And she
answered with studied coolness: “Indeed, no. That is–not unless
you mended your manners considerably.”

“And I have no intention of mending them. So you could not love
me? That is as I hoped. For while I like you immensely, I do not
love you and it would be tragic indeed for you to suffer twice from
unrequited love, wouldn’t it, dear? May I call you ‘dear,’ Mrs.
Hamilton? I shall call you ‘dear’ whether you like it or not, so
no matter, but the proprieties must be observed.”

Rhett’s style is probably too wordy for contemporary norms, but his fundamentals are rock solid.

About Pechorin

A Hero of Our Time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Han Solo Game in “Gone With The Wind”

  1. Southern Man says:

    Margaret Mitchell’s understanding of relationships is, I believe, under-appreciated. Few women understand why they want an alpha; she appears to, and puts that knowledge to good use in GWTW.

Leave a Reply

